Montessori On Circletime

Discover What All The Hype Is About All This Week!

Never help a child with a task at which he feels he can succeed— Maria Montessori 

Wonderful Ingredient for Learning at Home

As we all try to make sense of home learning / hybrid learning/ homeschooling / nanoschooling / colearning / pods and all their variations and nuances, you may have heard lots of buzz around Montessori. If you’re not familiar with the term, Montessori is a child-centered educational approach based on scientific observations of children. A key element of Montessori, and specifically Montessori in the home, is its focus on fostering independence.

Foster Independence

In the earliest years in a Montessori environment, children focus on what are referred to as “practical life skills.”  This may include learning to prepare simple snacks, putting on their own shoes or coats, or caring for plants and animals.  Children are given room and time to practice these skills.Another facet of independence for Montessori involves “choice within limits,”  whereby children choose work they are interested in.  Adults carefully prepare the environment so that all choices are organized by subject area, within reach of the child,  appropriate in size, safe and desirable. Within those parameters, the child is free to explore and should have uninterrupted blocks of “work time,” ideally three hours.The challenge for many interested in the method are the specialized educational materials developed by Montessori and her collaborators that are often made out of natural, aesthetic materials such as wood rather than plastic. 

Check Out Our Montessori Schedule for this Week

We are running our first Montessori trial sessions on Circletime this week. This will give you even more ways to support your children’s growth and development at home. Here’s this week’s schedule:

Mommy & Me Montessori with Ms. Emily
Tuesday, September 1st at 9:30 am ET/8:30 am CT/7:30 am MT
Age: 0-1 year olds
Materials needed:
– Shaker
– Scarf

Montessori Math with Ms. Nyla
Wednesday, September 2nd at 11 am ET/10 am CT/9 am MT/8 am PT
Age: 4-5 year olds
Materials needed:
– Lentils
– Post It’s

Montessori Culture with Ms. Nyla
Thursday, September 3rd at 1 pm ET/12 pm CT/11 am MT/10 am PT
Traveling to Japan
Age: 5-6 year olds
Materials Needed:
-Scissors
-Colored Paper
-Glue
-Glitter

Montessori Sensorial with Ms. Jhen
Friday, September 4th at 1 pm ET/12 pm CT/11 am MT/10 am PT
Age: 2-3 year olds
Materials Needed:
– Bowl of water
– Soap
– Toys from around the house (that start with different letters)

  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *